Reflecting on 2016!

Hey! Happy New Year to you all 🙂 I hope you’ve had a lovely Christmas and New Year! How did you spend your New Year’s Eve? I went out to a disco thing with my family and friends! Now, before I write a post all about my goals for 2017, I thought it would be a good idea to reflect on the many ups and downs of my 2016.

So the beginning of my 2016 started off with a lot of worry and uncertainty. I was very unhappy within myself and with pretty much every aspect of my life. Despite this, in January 2016 I completed a Mental Health First Aid Course, which was a brilliant opportunity and my training has definitely come in handy! I was also discharged from CAMHS in January, something I am extremely proud of.

In February, my best friend became really unwell with anorexia. It was absolutely heartbreaking watching her get worse every single day, but after so much sadness, pain and unhappiness, professionals helped her and in March she went into an inpatient hospital. This was so hard for me. I missed her so much for the six months she was there. I visited her when I could and we had fun, but it was quite far away! At times she tried desperately to push me away, but now nine months after, our friendship is still close and the happiest it’s ever been. I’m so proud of her and of course, love her lots! That hospital saved her life and she is recovering well after being discharged 🙂

At the end of March, I attended the NCS YES Live Concert! Myself and a friend had completed NCS the previous September and were graduates. We won some tickets and saw amazing acts perform, including Jess Glynne, Tinie Tempah, Craig David and BLONDE. It was an amazing day out!

IMG_4297

At the start of April I applied for my first part-time job! I was called in for an interview and later offered the job! I started and began training in the beginning of May and now I love it! (well most of the time) I am a Children’s Party Host and the job has helped me in more ways than just providing me with money. It has increased my self-confidence and I have made a lot more friends. Woooo go me!

In June, I went t0 my Grandparents caravan with family and enjoyed the peacefulness of walking on the beach and collecting pebbles 🙂 It’s the simple things!

IMG_4754

JULY – My birthday month! I had the nicest birthday, I had all my family round for a BBQ. We played games in the garden, threw water bombs and ate soooo much food! I also went out with my friend to the cinema to see Finding Dory and I went on a massive shopping spree with my birthday money!

In August, I went to Menorca with my family! This was my first holiday abroad in four years and I was terrified! But I faced a lot of fears there and had such a good holiday. Even if I did get extremely sun burnt! :/

At the start of September I started sixth form…again. I absolutely hated the courses I had chosen and I was in a pretty bad place when I started in 2015. So after meetings at school I decided to re-do the year and I chose to do a Level 3 Childcare course. Although, it is a lot of work and stressful, I love it! I’m so glad I decided to change, and I love working in my current placement. I have made some fab friends in my class too!

In October I went to my first hen party, met up with a life long friend and stayed at my dad’s new house for the first time. These things I would not have done in 2015, so I know I have challenged myself this year!

I went to a music concert with my Dad in November and spent a lot of time doing school work and working as a party host! For some reason, it was a very busy month, but I did enjoy firework night and my Great Auntie’s birthday party! In December, I spent a lot of time with my family and friends. I went on a night out with my work friends and my placement work colleagues which was amazing. We also got a hot tub and have spent many evenings relaxing outside. On the 8th of December I met Zoe Sugg (Zoella), Alfie Deyes (PointlessBlog), Sean Elliott and Poppy Deyes! THE BEST DAY EVER. They were the nicest people and I feel so so lucky to have finally met them!

img_6730

Then of course, I had a lovely Christmas and New Year. I ate way too much food, received gorgeous presents and my mum and her partner got engaged! Wooo congrats Mum ❤

So that was my 2016! It’s had it’s bad times and its amazing times and on reflection I have realised that I have changed a lot this year. I am growing up and I’m starting to find myself 🙂

Thank you for reading❤

Are you excited and motivated for 2017?!

Please leave a comment and let me know!

Or you can email me on: its.simply.me3@gmail.com
Or Tweet me: @itssimplyme3

Love Abbie x

 

 

4 thoughts on “Reflecting on 2016!

  1. gracie chick says:

    Hi Simply, Me! I’ve nominated you for The Sunshine Blogger Award! Congratulations. I hope you are able to participate, you can find all the details on my blog.
    Thanks and have fun!
    Gracie

    Like

Leave a Reply

